The Taipei Fubon Braves and the Formosa Dreamers are set to face one another for the very first time December 7th at Changhua Country Stadium in Taiwan.

Dubbed as the “Taiwan Tussle,” the upcoming game is one of the 2019-20 season’s most anticipated matchups as it will feature some of Taiwan’s most talented and most popular players.

The hosting Formosa Dreamers are already in their third year in the ASEAN Basketball League and finished last season as the league’s top seed. However, the Changhua-based squad has yet to register a win — dropping their first games of the new season.

In their most recent game, the Dreamers failed to hold a 14-point fourth-quarter lead against the Macau Black Bears. The team is currently being led by American import Marcus Keene, who is averaging 25 points, eight rebounds, and nine assists per game.

Kenny Chien, Lee Hsueh Lin, Yang Chin-Min, Tien Lei, and former Brave Jet Chang also feature for the Dreamers as local standouts, while Jerran Young and Liam McMorrow are the team’s other two imports.

Meanwhile, the Taipei Fubon Braves are currently riding a two-game winning streak after claiming back-to-back victories over Hong Kong Eastern and the Macau Black Bears last weekend.

Playing in their first season in the league, the Braves entered the ABL as champions from Taiwan’s Super Basketball League (SBL). The second active ABL team from Taiwan is widely considered as one of the top contenders this season.

The Braves sent shockwaves across the league this past offseason when they announced the signing of NBA veteran O.J. Mayo. Mayo spent eight seasons in the NBA after being selected third overall during the 2008 NBA Draft. He most recently played for the Milwaukee Bucks and is currently the ABL’s reigning Player of the Week.

Additionally, the ABL’s newest team features a powerhouse lineup comprised of Lin Chih-Chieh, Tsai Wen-Chang, and Tseng Wen-Ting as local players, along with imports Charles Garcia and former Sacramento King Sim Bhullar.

This Saturday’s game is scheduled to begin at 3:00 PM (GMT +8) and will be the first of four match-ups between the two teams this 2019-2020 season.

Follow us on Twitter at @aseansports1.