Philippine National Team head coach Vincent ‘Chot’ Reyes announced the final 12-man roster for the Gilas Pilipinas squad that will play against Japan in the Asian Qualifiers for the 2019 FIBA World Cup via the Kwentong Gilas page on Facebook.

Naturalized player Andray Blatche arrived only a couple of days ago to join the team practices before traveling with them to Japan. His arrival was very much delayed due to prior commitments with the Xinjiang Flying Tigers, his professional club in the Chinese Basketball Association (CBA).

  Gilas 12-man line-up vs. Japan

  1. Jayson Castro
  2. Kevin Alas
  3. Kiefer Ravena
  4. Gabe Norwood
  5. Matthew Wright
  6. Roger Pogoy
  7. Calvin Abueva
  8. Allein Maliksi
  9. Troy Rosario
  10. Japeth Aguilar
  11. June Mar Fajardo
  12. Andray Blatche

Reyes reiterated that the line-up is only for the Japan match, and could very well change against Chinese-Taipei for the home game on November 27 in Manila, Philippines. The rest of the players in the pool will remain with the team throughout.

The match between Gilas Pilipinas and Japan’s ‘Akatsuki Five’ will be held at the Komazawa Olympic Park General Sports Ground Gymnasium in Tokyo tomorrow, November 24 (Friday) at 7:00 PM local time.