Another Filipino team joins the Asia League Summer Super 8’s second edition, joining another team from the Philippines, one from Japan, one from Chinese Taipei, two teams each from China and South Korea.

The NLEX Road Warriors are the final addition to round out the eight squads participating in the tournament, joining fellow Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) team Blackwater Elite, ASEAN Basketball League (ABL) club Formosa Dreamers from Chinese Taipei, Xinjiang Flying Tigers and Guangzhou Long Lions from China, Incheon Electroland Elephants and the returning Seoul Samsung Thunders from Korea, and Japan’s B-league Division II Champions Rizing Zephyr Fukuoka.

It was earlier reported that ABL club San Miguel Alab Pilipinas were arranging to participate in the tournament, but talks fell apart before they were able to finalize their entry.

Coached by the mercurial, multi-titled tactician Yeng Guiao, the Road Warriors is likely going to parade their PBA line-up that includes the likes of Asi Taulava, Cyrus Baguio, Ronjay Buenafe, Alex Mallari, Emman Monfort, JR Quinahan, Juami Tiongson, Jonathan Uyloan, Raul Soyud, Michael Miranda and Dave Marcelo. They will be without star guards Kiefer Ravena because of a doping suspension, and Larry Fonacier and Kevin Alas due to injuries.

Unlike last year, all teams are required to bring an all-local squad as there will be no foreign imports for this year’s event.

NLEX Road Warriors Kiefer Ravena (Photo credit: PBA)
The Road Warriors would be without Kiefer Ravena (Photo credit: PBA)

Teams will be divided into two groups of four, playing a round-robin within their group. The top two teams from each group will then advance to the semi-final knock-out round. The top two teams will compete for the championship, while the two eliminated teams will battle for third.

The Asia League Summer Super 8 tournament will be held at the Macao East Asian Games Dome in Macau, SAR from July 17-22.