The newly-crowned Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) Commissioner’s Cup Champions San Miguel Beermen will be participating in this year’s The Terrific 12 tournament in Macau.

Hosted by the East Asia Super League (formerly Asia League), the 2019 edition will continue to feature top teams from the PBA, the Chinese Basketball Association, B.League Japan, and the Korean Basketball League.

27-time PBA champions San Miguel Beermen will make a rare appearance in the international stage as they make their EASL debut in a tough Group B fixture, which features the Shenzhen Aviators of the CBA, and defending Terrific 12 Champions Ryukyu Golden Kings of Japan.

Meanwhile, fellow PBA squads Blackwater Elite and the TNT KaTropa have been sorted into Groups A and D, respectively. The Beermen will be able to rekindle their rivalry with the KaTropa if both teams are able to come out of their groups as the top teams and advance to the semifinal round.

San Miguel Beermen recently won their fourth Commissioner's Cup title (Photo: PBA Images)
San Miguel Beermen most recently won their fourth Commissioner’s Cup title (Photo: PBA Images)

The Beermen, who also won the all-local Philippine Cup earlier this year, brings five-time league MVP June Mar Fajardo, Christian Standhardinger, Alex Cabagnot, Terrence Romeo, Chris Ross, Marcio Lassiter, Arwind Santos, Matt Ganuelas-Rosser, Paul Zamar, Von Pessumal, Ronald Tubid, Kelly Nabong, Billy Mamaril, and Ronald Tubid to Macau.

Joining their star-studded lineup are imports Lester Prosper and Dezmine Wells. The 6-foot-10 prosper is an athletic big man who also played for Columbian Dyip in the PBA last conference and racked up 33.6 points and 17 rebounds a game. Meanwhile, Wells is a 6-foot-5 guard who averaged 13.4 points and 3.2 assists for the Oklahoma City Blue in the NBA G League last year.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by East Asia Super League (@eastasiasuperleague) on

San Miguel Beermen Schedule:

September 17, 2019
1900H Shenzhen Aviators v San Miguel Beermen (Group B)

September 19, 2019
1900H San Miguel Beermen v Ryukyu Golden Kings (Group B)

September 21, 2019
1700H Seed 1A v Seed 1C*
1900H Seed 1B v Seed 1D*

September 22, 2019
1700H Third Place Game*
1900H Championship Game*
*If necessary

The Beermen open their Macau stint against CBA Playoff team Shenzhen Aviators (formerly Leopards) and the national team frontcourt duo of Shen Zijie and Li Muhao. After one day of rest, they’ll then face Ryuichi Kishimoto and the Ryukyu Golden Kings, who won the Terrific 12 championship last year.

The Aviators (formerly Leopards) is bringing a deep local squad that will be reinforced with imports Shabazz Muhammad and Pierre Jackson. The 7-foot-2 Li, who 10.6 points and 6.5 rebounds, while the 6-foot-11 Shen contributed with 10.3 points and 6.6 rebounds, mostly against imports last season in the CBA. They could give the Beermen’s Fajardo a test in the interior.

Chinese national team big man Shen Zijie will provide a test for June Mar Fajardo and the Beermen frontline (Photo: FIBA)

Joining them is former NBA player Shabazz Muhammad, who last played with the Shangxi Loongs in China. The athletic swingman was able to tally 29.8 points and 11.2 rebounds per outing, but unable to led his team to playoffs.

Meanwhile, the defending Terrific 12 Champions Ryukyu Golden Kings will lead by team veteran guard Ryuichi Kishimoto, and imports duo Josh Scott and Jack Cooley. Kishimoto’s ability to make plays for his teammate is going to be defensive focus for the San Miguel backcourt.

Scott, a former Colorado Buffalo in the US NCAA, punched in an impressive 17.1 points, 9 rebounds and 1.6 assists stat line last season with the Golden Kings in the B.League.

Ryukyu will look to win back-to-back titles in the Terrific 12 (Photo: Ryukyu Golden Kings)
Ryukyu will look to win back-to-back titles in the Terrific 12 (Photo: Ryukyu Golden Kings)

All teams are set to battle the two other squads in their division in a single round-robin during the group stage, where only the top-seeded team advances to the knock-out semifinal round. The next two eliminated teams then compete for third place, before the final two standing teams contend for The Terrific 12 championship.

East Asia Super League will host The Terrific 12 on September 17-22 at the Tap Seac Multi-sports Pavilion in Macau, China SAR. Visit Macau Ticket outlets or website to purchase.

Follow us on Twitter at @aseansports1.