The Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas (SBP) announced the final lineup for the Philippines Women’s national team competing in the upcoming 2019 FIBA Women’s Asia Cup.

Formerly known as Perlas Pilipinas, they have since been renamed Gilas Pilipinas Women’s Team. Seeing continued success under head coach Patrick Aquino, the squad will be looking to retain their status as a Division A team.

After being promoted to the top division four years ago, the squad were able to retain their spot in Division A by defeating the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea last 2017. They will have to prove their worth once again in the upcoming Asia Cup next week.

The squad participated in the 41st William Jones Cup in Taipei, Taiwan last July. And though they finished the tournament 0-5, the experience will definitely be a boost to their preparation for the upcoming campaign.

Filipino-American Kelli Casey Hayes, Bea Daez, Eunique Chan, Marizze Tongco, Ria Joy Nabalan, and Ana Alicia Katrina Castillo joins national Team mainstays Jack Animam, Afril Bernardino, France Mae Cabinbin, Danica Therese Jose, Gemma Miranda, and Janine Pontejos to don the blue and white for the country.

The Philippines are drawn into Group B with powerhouse teams Australia, China, and New Zealand, while Group A consists of hosts India, Japan, South Korea, and Chinese Taipei.

Each team will play their group in a single round-robin format in the preliminary round, after which the top three teams from each group will advance to the knockout stage, while the bottom two teams will play for seventh place.

Gilas Pilipinas Women’s Team needs to avoid falling to eight place in order to remain in Division A after the 2019 FIBA Women’s Asia Cup which will be held between September 24-29 at the Sree Kanteerava Indoor Stadium in Bangalore, India.

Follow us on Twitter at @aseansports1.